‘Young Honam’ Gyeongbuk High School and Gwangju Jeil High School advance to Round of 32… Battle for 16 tickets

Daegu Sangwon Go, Gyeonggi Aviation Go, etc. also won

Gyeongbuk Gyeongbuk High School and Gwangju Jeil High School, two of Korea’s most prestigious high school baseball programs that have produced legends such as Sun Dong-yeol, Lee Jong-beom, and Lee Seung-yup, have joined the round of 32 side by side.

Gyeongbuk High School defeated Busan Industrial High School 6-3 in the second game of the 51st Bonghwangdae National High School Baseball Tournament at Mokdong Stadium in Seoul on April 21 to reach the round of 32. Gyeongbuk Go, which won the Cheongryonggi this year, will challenge for the second title in a row with the “beehive mound” and No. 4 hitter Lee Seung-hyun (3 years), despite the absence of Jeon Mir (3 years), a key part of the team’s power who doubles as a pitcher, to join the youth national team.

Gwangju Jeil-Go punched their ticket to the round of 32 with a 2-0 win over the most decorated team in the phoenix era since the 2010s (three times), Whimungo, after a tight pitching battle. The two teams will play for a spot in the Round of 16 at the same venue on April 28.

Kyungpook National University 6-3 Busan Industrial University
Gwangju First 2-0 Whimun
Shinheung High School 14-7 Gyeongju High School (8th inning, cold and out of order)

With the score tied at 2-2 in the top of the sixth inning, Gyeongbuk High scored the game-winning run on a wild pitch. After back-to-back singles by Kim Se-hoon (3) and Kim Woo-hyuk (2) put runners on first and second with nobody out, No. 7 Stable Hwan (3) grounded out and No. 8 Jung Hee-chan (2) grounded out to the first baseman, but when No. 9 Park Hyun-hoo (2) came to bat, a wild pitch by pitcher Kim Tae-yi (3) broke the tie. Reliever Kim Byung-jun (2) worked out of a bases-loaded jam in the bottom of the seventh inning with the score 4-3, and Lee Seung-hyun hit a two-run double in the top of the ninth.안전놀이터

Gwangju Jeil-Go stood out with an ironclad mound. Ryu Seung-chan (2 years) pitched three no-hit innings, followed by Kim In-woo (3 years) and Kwon Hyun-woo (2 years). In the bottom of the third inning, Gwangju Jeil-Go scored the game’s first run on a push ball to center field by Bae Kang (3Y) after loading the bases with one out on four pitches and one hit. Down 0-1 in the top of the fourth, Whimungo tried to steal home with the bases loaded but failed, and Gwangju won the game in the bottom of the sixth on an RBI single by Lee Ju-hyun (3).

Trailing 8-6 in the top of the eighth inning, Cheongju put together a six-run big inning on six hits and three wild pitches to end the game.

Daegu Sangwon 8-3 Incheon
Gyeonggi Air Force 12-2 Eunpyeong District BC (6th inning cold)
Mulmugo 4-3 Chunghun Go (over Shinwol)

Daegu Sangwon Go jumped out to an early lead and held off Incheon Go, the runner-up in the previous edition of the President’s Cup. In the top of the first inning, Suh Soo-ho hit a two-run home run to left field, and in the top of the sixth inning, No. 4 Kang Tae-hwan (3) hit a two-run double to make it 2-1. Daegu Sangwon High starter Jeon Hyun-tak (3) allowed three hits and four walks in five innings, but struck out six to earn the win.

The Gyeonggi Air Force held off a late surge by the Eunpyeong District BC, which was founded this year and recorded its first win in game one against the Bonghwang Daejeon Hwaseong Dongtan Baseball. Heo Sung-jae (3) led the offense with a 2-for-3 performance with a double and two RBIs, while eight batters in the lineup collected hits. Eunpyeong District BC was led by Yoo Hye-sung (3 years), who went 3-for-4, and Park Eui-seon (1 year), who went 3-for-3, but could not smile in defeat.

Mulmungo held onto a three-run lead in the top of the third inning to tie the game at 1-1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *